Probably Some Stupid Questions????

Pete E

I have a few rather obscure, possibly stupid questions re the presence of oysters on a dig...They stem from the fact that the site I was on in Lincolnshire last week was littered with shell fish shells. The vast majority were oyster but there was a sprinkling of other types too..

Given the distance from the sea, these must have been brought in as a food source. Now I know oysters were a favourite with the Romans, but how long were they a common food source eaten by the masses so to speak?

Are they a common find on sites of other eras? Finally, is there anyway the shells themselves can be dated?

Regards,

Peter
Hordfindend

It's not a stupid question at all. Oyster shells are a really good sign there'll be early finds on a site.

I often wondered about how they got them inland, but I was talking to one of my farmers a week or so ago. I enjoy talking to him, because he's always got some interesting stuff to talk about.
Anyway, he was talking about how he had dredged his pond and they were surprised to find loads of freshwater oysters. He said they moved them all to another pond where they can oyster away, filtering the water.

So that's how they get to sites. And, in history, they were the food of the common folc because they were cheap and abundant.
fred

It depends upon how near the sea that you are. Lincolnshire has lots of coast so seafood was probably a staple until the late 19thC. The distance limitation was how long they'd stay alive in a barrel being trundled along in a cart. That changed once the railways arrived and they became a staple food until overfishing finally made it once again a food for the rich. :D
Last edited by fred on Mon Jun 20, 2022 5:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
fred

Hordfindend wrote: Mon Jun 20, 2022 5:25 pm It's not a stupid question at all. Oyster shells are a really good sign there'll be early finds on a site.